Late Night Noms!

I admit, I had a late one last night. I ended up arguing with my washing machine and staying up to wait for it to finish. Naturally, I popped YouTube on to keep me company and ended up watching the awesome Rosanna Pansino (Nerdy Nummies channel), which gave me a rare and major sweet tooth. I’ve had a hankering for pancakes for days but I’d never made them before, so I did a bit of searching for (and adapting of) recipes and came up with the one below. I have a dinky frying pan so this batter makes me 3 super fluffy American pancakes roughly 15cm across – this mix is perfect with a citrus topping such as lemon juice, but a savoury equivalent would be easy!

Ingredients:

110g self-raising flour

25g granulated sugar (or icing sugar if you prefer yours sweeter)

2tsp ground Himalayan rock salt

1 egg

200ml milk (I used soya but any should be fine)

Oil/Butter for frying

Method:

Combine the dry ingredients in a mixing bowl, sifting in the flour (and icing sugar if used) to discourage lumps.

Make a well in the middle and crack the egg into it – don’t drop the shell in!

Add your milk a bit at a time and mix everything thoroughly, adding the rest of the milk as you go.

Fry over a low heat for 3-4 minutes on each side and serve with something yummy 🙂

2 of these satisfied my late-night munchies quite nicely with a wedge of lemon and a cup of Twinings Green Tea with Peach and Cherry Blossom. Admittedly I didn’t get much blogging stuff done but hey – my belly was happy!

If you give these a go let me know how they turned out 🙂

Namaste x

Leave a Reply

